1986 Porsche 962

IMSA Racecar

Chassis No. 03 

This is the final of three racing Porsche 962’s built by Al Holbert and was raced by A.J. Foyt in 1987 and 1988. The Porsche 962s dominated international endurance racing throughout the 1980’s, winning all of the classic long distance international races numerous times. With a top speed of well over 200 mph, the 962s were described by Le Mans winner Derek Bell as “a car without vice.”

Foyt raced the #03 Porsche 962 eight times. Its best finish in 1987 was fourth in the Daytona 24 Hour race.  It competed that year at the 12 Hours of Sebring, but was retired following a pit lane accident.  It was rebuilt in time to earn another fourth place finish that year in the Palm Beach Grand Prix.

In 1988, Foyt Racing entered the 962 in four Florida events – Daytona, Sebring, Miami and Palm Beach. He earned a fifth-place finish at Daytona and a fourth-place finish at Sebring, but was eliminated by an accident in Palm Beach. In addition to A.J. Foyt, the 962 was raced by Hurley Haywood, Danny Sullivan, Davy Jones, Rob Dyson, Elliott Forbes-Robinson and Al Unser, Sr. & Jr.

In 1990, the #03 Porsche 962 was acquired by Brumos Racing. It was rebuilt and restored in its Copenhagen livery at Brumos’ Jacksonville raceshop and remains a valued part of the Brumos Collection.

More 1986 Porsche 962 IMSA Racecar Photos

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/thebrumoscollect/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 4344